1 2 3 4 5 ...
News/Special Offers
About ECM
January 16 , 2014

Honorary prize 2014 from German critics association for Tomasz Stanko

Tomasz Stanko will receive one of the three honorary prizes 2014 given by the ‘Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik’ (PdSK), an independent association of more than 140 journalists from Germany, Austria and Switzerland, as it was announced on January 15th in Bonn.
With the award the jury acknowledges Stanko’s lifelong work as Polands most important jazz ambassador with a special reference to his 2013 ECM double album Wislawa, it was said an a press statement given by the PdSK.

The other two honorees are conductor Marek Janowski (Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin) and Indian flutist Hariprasad Chaurasia (who in 1986 made important contributions to the classic ECM recording Making Music by Zakir Hussain).
Baritone Christian Gerhaher (who can be heard on the ECM New Series recording Notturno with Othmar Schoeck and the Roasamunde Quartett) was awarded by the PdSK with a further special trophy, the ‘Nachtigall’(‘Nightingale’). It is the first time this award goes to a singer.

More information: