Keith Jarrett


"Creation" features music selected by Keith Jarrett from his improvised solo concerts recorded in 2014 in Japan, Canada, and Europe. Where in the past the solo documentation has shown the improvisational process unfolding over the course of a single evening, this time Jarrett zeroes in on the most revelatory moments from six concerts in Tokyo, Toronto, Paris and Rome and shapes a new dramaturgy from the intuitive sequencing of the material. With this rewarding departure, Keith Jarrett gives us here the most up-to-the minute account of his spontaneously created music. (Creation is one of two releases issued on May 8th, Keith Jarrett’s 70th birthday, the second album being an ECM New Series recording of the pianist playing concertos of Samuel Barber and Béla Bartok).

Für "Creation" hat Keith Jarrett Musik aus seinen improvisierten Solokonzerten des Jahres 2014 in Japan, Kanada und Europa ausgewählt. Während seine Solo-Aufnahmen in der Vergangenheit zeigten, wie sich der Prozess der Improvisation im Verlauf jeweils eines einzelnen Abends entfaltete, greift sich Jarrett diesmal die aufschlussreichsten Momente aus sechs Konzerten in Tokio, Toronto, Paris und Rom heraus und gestaltet aus der Abfolge des Materials intuitiv eine neue Dramaturgie. Mit diesem fruchtbaren Ansatz vermittelt uns Keith Jarrett hier den neuesten Stand seines  spontanen Musikschaffens.
(Creation ist eine von zwei Veröffentlichungen, die am 8. Mai, Keith Jarretts 70. Geburtstag, erscheinen. Die zweite ist eine ECM New Series-Aufnahme, auf der der Pianist Konzerte von Samuel Barber und Béla Bartok spielt).
Featured Artists Recorded

April-July 2014

Original Release Date


  • 1Creation, Part I, Toronto - Roy Thomson Hall, June 25, 2014
    (Keith Jarrett)
  • 2Creation, Part II, Tokyo - Kioi Hall, May 9, 2014
    (Keith Jarrett)
  • 3Creation, Part III, Paris - Salle Pleyel, July 4, 2014
    (Keith Jarrett)
  • 4Creation, Part IV, Rome - Auditorium Parco della Musica, July 11, 2014
    (Keith Jarrett)
  • 5Creation, Part V, Tokyo - Kioi Hall, May 9, 2014
    (Keith Jarrett)
  • 6Creation, Part VI, Tokyo - Orchard Hall, May 6, 2014
    (Keith Jarrett)
  • 7Creation, Part VII, Rome - Auditorium Parco della Musica, July 11, 2014
    (Keith Jarrett)
  • 8Creation, Part VIII, Rome - Auditorium Parco della Musica, July 11, 2014
    (Keith Jarrett)
  • 9Creation, Part IX, Tokyo - Orchard Hall, April 30, 2014
    (Keith Jarrett)
"Creation" signals a departure from the ‘traditions’ of Keith Jarrett’s many ECM recordings of solo improvised piano. Earlier concert recordings have reflected the flow of musical ideas and inspirations as developed in the course of an evening (as on The Köln Concert, Paris Concert, Vienna Concert, Rio etc) or several evenings (Bremen-Lausanne, Sun Bear Concerts, Testament etc.)  Creation - drawn from concert recordings made in Japan, Canada and Europe in 2014 - is different.

After reviewing all the music from his 2014 performances, Keith Jarrett honed in on the most revelatory episodes from six concerts in Toronto, Tokyo, Paris and Rome and sequenced them, effectively creating a new concert, a new suite of pieces with its own inner logic and momentum. The concept opens up fresh possibilities, extending the improviser’s art to include an intuitive reassembling of material. The resultant album is perhaps the most strongly lyrical of Jarrett’s recent solo releases, the choice of music emphasizing pieces in which there is a sense of song being born, voices striving to be heard. Creation also offers the most up-to-the minute account of Jarrett’s uncanny capacity to construct compelling music in real-time:  his melodic-harmonic imagination as an improviser and his ability to consistently find and shape new forms remain, after all these years of solo concerts, remarkable.  

The album begins with music from Toronto. Paul Wells of Canadian national news magazine Maclean’s, reviewed the concert at the Roy Thomson Hall, concluding that “Jarrett matters because he possesses the improviser’s secret to greater degree than almost anyone. He can spin melody and logic, structure and surprise, richly and indefinitely.”

Three of the improvised pieces sequenced here - Part IV, Part VII and Part VIII -   are from a concert Jarrett gave at Rome’s Auditorium Parco della Musica  on July 11, 2014.  Jarrett returns to Italy on May 18, to play a solo concert at Teatro San Carlo in Naples.

On May 22 he performs at the KKL Hall in Lucerne, Switzerland.