Edition Lockenhaus, Vol.1&2

Gidon Kremer

2-CD23,90 out of print
2-LP37,90 out of print
Early in Lockenhaus’s history, producer Manfred Eicher began working with Gidon Kremer, who initiated the festival in 1981. They soon began to regularly record the festival, thereby launching the “Edition Lockenhaus” in 1985 under the larger umbrella of ECM’s New Series.
These recordings are fascinating for many reasons and not least for giving us the opportunity to hear some of the finest chamber musicians of our era, alongside Gidon Kremer, early in their respective careers. The long list includes musicians now strongly associated with ECM: Kim Kashkashian, Thomas Zehetmair, Thomas Demenga, Robert Levin, Heinz Holliger and more.
A five-CD limited-edition box set was issued in 2011 for the 30th anniversary of the Austrian chamber-music festival. The repertory includes Richard Strauss, Olivier Messiaen, César Franck, André Caplet, Francis Poulenc, Leos Janácek, Igor Stravinsky, Dimitri Shostakovich and Erwin Schulhoff with Sir Simon Rattle and Roman Kofman conducting the Kremerata Baltica. Original liner notes, an interview with Kremer, and new texts complete a very special edition. Gidon Kremer: “The artistic atmosphere in Lockenhaus soon has everybody speaking on the same wavelength.”
Featured Artists Recorded

1981-1984, Lockenhaus

Original Release Date


  • CD 1
  • Piano Quintet in f minor
    (César Franck)
  • 1Molto moderato quasi lento. Allegro16:44
  • 2Lento, con molto sentimento11:30
  • 3Allegro non troppo, ma con fuoco09:43
  • 4Conte fantastique
    (André Caplet)
  • Fiançailles pour rire
    (Francis Poulenc)
  • 5Mon cadavre est doux comme un gant03:17
  • 6Fleurs02:56
  • CD 2
  • String Quartet No. 1
    (Leoš Janáček)
  • 1Adagio - Con moto04:18
  • 2Con moto04:25
  • 3Con moto - Vivo - Andante04:13
  • 4Con moto (Adagio) - Più mosso05:29
  • L'Histoire du soldat
    (Igor Stravinsky)
  • 5Tango - Valse - Ragtime06:26
  • Concerto in Ré
    (Igor Stravinsky)
  • 6Vivace - Arioso. Andantino - Rondo. Allegro12:19
  • Four Waltzes for Flute, Clarinet and Piano op. 97c
    (Dmitri Shostakovich)
  • 7Waltz03:22
  • 8Barrel Organ Waltz02:32
  • Two Pieces for String Octet op. 11
    (Dmitri Shostakovich)
  • 9Prelude - Adagio. Più mosso. Adagio05:43
  • 10Scherzo - Allegro molto. Moderato. Allegro04:55