Listening: Music – Movement – Mind

LISTENING: Music – Movement – Mind is a conceptual and practical book about the creative relationship
between mind and body in the context of music and martial arts. Musician and composer Nik Bärtsch, founder
of the so-called Ritual Groove Music, has developed techniques that offer musicians and martial artists useful
and surprising tools to support, focus and simplify learning and creative processes in many fields of artistic
activity and daily life.

The book is based on the long-standing experience of Nik Bärtsch and his wife Andrea Pfisterer as aikido
practitioners, performers in live music, cultural entrepreneurs and teachers of music and physical techniques.
Through essays and pictures, interviews, exercises and games, the book conveys the authors’ poetic
understanding of body and mind and inspires the individual creativity and consciousness of the readers,
regardless of their backgrounds. It also documents the stages of Bärtsch’s musical development as composer,
solo pianist and bandleader of Ronin and Mobile, two formations that enjoy international recognition.

NIK BÄRTSCH is an internationally renowned composer, pianist and teacher as well as founder of the socalled
Ritual Groove Music. Either solo or with his groups Mobile and Ronin he plays textures between jazz,
funk, new music, minimal, ritual and sacred music. His work is inspired by the Japanese culture, especially the
martial art Aikido.

Size: 15×21,5cm / 6×8,5 in
Cover: paperback
Book: 352 pages, 194 images
ISBN: 9783037786703

Publisher: Lars Müller Publisher GmbH