Piano Improvisations Vol.1

Chick Corea

CD10,90 out of print
LP14,90 out of print
CD from the "Touchstones" Series.
Chick Corea’s first unaccompanied album initiated the solo piano idiom at ECM, and proved to be extremely influential. Alongside music created in the moment, some powerful melodies are explored here, not least that of “Sometime Ago”, soon to be a theme song for the Return To Forever band. “I found it quite easy to select what I felt was the single best disc [of 1971]. Chick Corea’s Piano Improvisations Volume One is a true masterpiece of music and a very important album” – Michael Cuscuna, Record World.
Featured Artists Recorded

April 1971, Arne Bendiksen Studio, Oslo

Original Release Date


  • 1Noon Song
    (Chick Corea)
  • 2Song For Sally
    (Chick Corea)
  • 3Ballad For Anna
    (Chick Corea)
  • 4Song Of The Wind
    (Chick Corea)
  • 5Sometime Ago
    (Chick Corea)
  • Where Are You Now? - A Suite of 8 Pictures
    (Chick Corea)
  • 6Picture 104:53
  • 7Picture 202:04
  • 8Picture 302:31
  • 9Picture 402:44
  • 10Picture 500:34
  • 11Picture 603:55
  • 12Picture 702:00
  • 13Picture 801:36